Oath of Allegiance - 1665

After the Swedish settlements on the Delaware were conquered by the Dutch, under the terms of the capitulation, all Swedes and Finns were ordered to take the oath of allegiance to the States General of New Netherlands. Some of those taking the oath, in 1665, were:

There are many known Swedish names not included on this document, so it must be presumed that this was only one of many circulated by the Dutch officers.

This page was updated on January 2, 2011