Penn Township was formed by a division of Londonderry in 1817. The greater part of it was originally included in Fagg's Manor and the settlers were largely from the north of Ireland. Among those who originally took up lands were John McKee, Daniel McClane, George Miller, Henry Charlton, Samuel Fleming, Hugh Luckey, Robert Brown, James Strawbridge, John McGrew, Matthew Harbeson, Richard Carson, Thomas Province, John Hayes, William Young, William Finney and William Graham. The southern line of Penn Township separating it from New London, was the southern line of Fagg's Manor.

In 1875 the line between Penn and Londonderry Townshipis was partly altered, so as to include in Londonderry a small portion of Penn. This was done for the accommodation of the school districts.

This page updated on February 28, 2009